PCB more likely to make main adjustments in centrally-contracted gamers’ record


(Left to proper ) Iftikhar Ahmed, Saim Ayub, Usama Mir and Zaman Khan. — Twitter/PCB/QuettaGladiators

LAHORE: With only some days left for the expiry of present central contracts, the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) is anticipated to finalise the brand new contracts for gamers after session with skipper Babar Azam and different senior cricketers.

It ought to be famous that the present central contracts will expire on June 30, which is why the PCB has began engaged on new offers for the gamers for the 2023-24 season.

Sources instructed Geo Information that quite a few adjustments are anticipated within the central contracts with promotion and demotion for a lot of gamers.

The PCB can be discussing whether or not it ought to proceed to award separate contracts primarily based on white-ball and red-ball cricket.

Resulting from retirement, veteran batter Azhar Ali might be excluded from the centrally-contracted gamers record. In the meantime, Fawad Alam, Yasir Shah, Nauman Ali, Khushdil Shah, Usman Qadir and Zahid Mehmood are additionally more likely to lose their central contracts.

Nonetheless, Iftikhar Ahmed, Saim Ayub, Ihsanullah, Usama Mir and Zaman Khan might be inducted into the record.

The sources additionally revealed that pacers Haris Rauf and Naseem Shah might be promoted when the brand new centrally-contracted gamers’ record is introduced.

PCB males’s central contracts record for 2022-23

Purple and white ball contracts (5):

  • Babar Azam, Mohammad Rizwan, Shaheen Shah Afridi (all Class A),
  • Hasan Ali (red-ball Class B, white-ball Class C) 
  • Imam-ul-Haq (red-ball Class C, white-ball Class B)

Purple ball contracts (10):

  • Class A — Azhar Ali
  • Class B — Fawad Alam
  • Class C — Abdullah Shafique, Naseem Shah and Nauman Ali
  • Class D — Abid Ali, Sarfaraz Ahmed, Saud Shakeel, Shan Masood and Yasir Shah

White ball contracts (11):

  • Class A — Fakhar Zaman and Shadab Khan
  • Class B — Haris Rauf
  • Class C — Mohammad Nawaz
  • Class D — Asif Ali, Haider Ali, Khushdil Shah, Mohammad Wasim Jnr, Shahnawaz Dahani, Usman Qadir and Zahid Mehmood

Rising contracts (7):

  • Ali Usman (Southern Punjab)
  • Haseebullah (Balochistan)
  • Kamran Ghulam (Khyber Pakhtunkhwa)
  • Mohammad Haris (Khyber Pakhtunkhwa)
  • Mohammad Huraira (Northern)
  • Qasim Akram (Central Punjab) 
  • Salman Ali Agha (Southern Punjab)

supply hyperlink