Russian Cosmonaut and Film Crew Returned to Earth Safely

275

A trio of Russian crew members consisting of a cosmonaut, an actress, and a movie producer has landed safely after departing the Worldwide Area Station (ISS) yesterday, Saturday, October 16. The three traveled dwelling to Earth in a Russian Soyuz MS-18 craft and landed in Kazakhstan, southeast of the city of Dzhezkazgan.

The cosmonaut, Oleg Novitskiy of Russian house company Roscosmos, has spent 191 days in house performing analysis and serving to to keep up the station. He was accompanied by actress Yulia Peresild and producer Klim Shipenko who have been on the ISS to movie scenes for an upcoming film. The film, titled Problem, is a cooperative challenge between Moscow media corporations and Roscosmos.

The Soyuz MS-18 crew ship is pictured docked to the Nauka multipurpose laboratory module. NASA

The three stated farewell to the remaining ISS crew — consisting of European Area Company astronaut Thomas Pesquet, NASA astronauts Shane Kimbrough, Megan McArthur, and Mark Vande Hei, JAXA (Japanese Aerospace Exploration Company) astronaut Akihiko Hoshide, and Roscosmos cosmonauts Anton Shkaplerov and Pyotr Dubrov — yesterday afternoon earlier than moving into the Soyuz MS-18.

The hatch between the spacecraft and the station was closed at 4:41 p.m. ET (1:41 p.m. PT), and the spacecraft undocked at 9:14 p.m. ET (6:14 p.m. PT).

A Russian trio stated farewell to the station crew and closed the Soyuz MS-18 crew ship hatch at 4:41pm ET at the moment. They undock at 9:14pm this night. Extra… https://t.co/Hwwr4AEUI7 pic.twitter.com/aXFOtG2H1O

— Worldwide Area Station (@Space_Station) October 16, 2021

The Soyuz traveled again to Earth in a brief flight, arriving just a little after midnight ET. A protected landing was achieved at 12:36 a.m. ET on Sunday morning (9:36 p.m. PT on Saturday night time).

In accordance with NASA, the trio was collected from the touchdown web site by Russian helicopters and brought to the restoration staging metropolis in Karaganda, Kazakhstan. From there, they returned to their coaching base in Star Metropolis, Russia, aboard a Gagarin Cosmonaut Coaching Middle plane.

Landing after 191 days in house for @Novitskiy_ISS and 12 days in house for 2 Russian filmmakers! Extra… https://t.co/CrQl3O1BUl pic.twitter.com/kzXlCTr0og

— Worldwide Area Station (@Space_Station) October 17, 2021

The Soyuz MS-18 spacecraft had triggered a worrying situation on the ISS on Friday, October 15, when a thruster fired incorrectly throughout a check and pushed the house station out of alignment. Roscosmos says that the crew of the ISS weren’t in any hazard, and luckily, the Russian trio on the MS-18 was returned to Earth safely.

Nevertheless, this was the second such incident this 12 months, as a newly docked Russian module for the ISS — the Nauka Multipurpose Logistics Module — errantly fired its thrusters and pushed the station out of alignment in July.

Editors’ Suggestions